Showing posts from January, 2017

Review - IND vs ENG - 1st T20I.

Not every time you witness 2,090 runs being scored in a 3-match ODI series. As a matter of fact, the recently concluded ODI series between India and England was the first one in which runs in excess of 2,000 were scored in a 3-match ODI series. Imagine the plight of bowlers who would be engaged in the following T20I series!
The focus had shifted to the first T20I which was to be played at the Green Park in Kanpur. In a match, which was Virat Kohli's first as T20I captain, he had to go through a couple of selection uncertainties. The major one being to pick one out of Amit Mishra and Yuzvendra Chahal. The other one being the batting position of Suresh Raina.
The visiting captain in Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl. The English batting order was in justness to the order used in the ODIs. However, there were some changes in the bowling division. Tymal Mills and Chris Jordan had replaced Chris Woakes and David Willey. Adil Rashid was included in the playing eleven. India …

Cricket Zeal's Ranji XI.

Priyank Panchal (Gujarat) - 105 more runs and this right-hand opening batsman from Gujarat would have broken VVS Laxman's all-time record of most runs in a season. 105 runs are a lot of runs in cricket but not for someone who was in as a good touch as Panchal was. He was the music to Gujarat's lyrics. With 1,310 runs in 10 matches, he was the highest run-scorer in this season of Ranji Trophy. His triumphant season included five centuries (including a triple century) and a batting average of 87.33.Prashant Chopra (Himachal Pradesh) - As a team, Himachal Pradesh failed to make it to the knockouts but their opening batsman in Prashant Chopra finished as the 3rd highest run-scorer in this season of the Ranji Trophy. In nine matches, he scored 978 runs at an average of 57.52 and a strike rate of 85.34. His highest score of 237 came versus Haryana in Valsad.Samit Gohel (Gujarat) - 26 year-old Samit Gohel made his way into the record books during the quarter-final against Odisha in J…

Composed. Conquered.

'Ok. That's it.' -- Three words and before anyone could guess Mahendra Singh Dhoni had stepped down as the captain of Indian cricket team in the limited-overs format. Situations change with the blink of an eye. One just did!
It was the 13th of September in 2007 when India was to face Scotland in their first Group D encounter of the ICC World Twenty20 2007. MS Dhoni walked out for the toss as the captain of India for the first time inKingsmead, Durban. 3,401 days (nine years, three month and 22 days) later, MS Dhoni without making a fuss about anything and without any acclaimed media conference, informed MSK Prasad, Chairman of Selectors, that it is time for a new leader to take forward the reigns of Team India.
From giving the last over in the final of the ICC World Twenty20 2007 to Joginder Sharma to promoting himself in the batting order in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, from winning the Commonwealth Series down under in 2008 to winning the ICC Champions Trop…